Spotify.

 

Since releasing in the United States last summer, Spotify has become one of all-time favorite applications on any device. While I love the ability to stream practically any song in history (which, trust me, I do), I think the best feature is one that lies under the hood — the ability to find a heap of new artists.

I am seriously amazed at how many new, great artists and bands I have come across since downloading the software last July. To name a few: Bon Iver (up until Spotify, I only liked/knew “Skinny Love”), The Temper Tramps, Christopher O’Riley and The Head and The Heart, amongst many others.

While finding new artists is always great, another super feature is the ability to share playlists. It’s with this feature that I have stumbled upon a superb playlist called, simply, “Writing”. I cannot say good enough things about this playlist. Honest to God, every single track is a blessing and I am forever going to use this for my writing time(s).

Because I am in such a musical mood, I insist you look at the playlist I’ve been using for For Those Who Don’t Learn From History and give at least a few of the songs a listen. They’re grand.

Cats and Dogs – The Head and The Heart

An Ending (Ascent) – Brian Eno

The Big Ship – Brian Eno

13 Ghosts II – Nine Inch Nails

Paradise Stars – Noah And The Whale

Get Your Truck/Flirt – Hal Hartley/Jeffery Taylor

Cherry – Ratatat

Takk – Sigur Ros

Amsterdam – Coldplay

Subterranean Homesick Alien (Radiohead piano cover) – Christopher O’Riley

First Ride – Don Ross

I Don’t Want to Set The World on Fire – The Ink Spots

Maybe – The Ink Spots

A Kiss To Build A Dream On – Louis Armstrong

For Emma – Bon Iver

Holocene – Bon Iver

Skinny Love – Bon Iver

Leave a Reply

